## Mountain Stars Quilters Guild Charter Members

There were 22 original members of the Mountain Stars Quilters Guild. We recognized these charter members at our first Founders Day Luncheon which was held on July 15, 2000 during our regular Business Meeting. The members who were able to attend shared their individual memories of the beginnings of our guild including Vicki Newhouse who gave a history of how we got our name (there was a contest) and Geraldine Lewis who told about how our raffle guilts began.

At the luncheon we honored our two deceased members first:

- 1. Pat Hatfield of Hugo Ladies' Club Treasurer and original Bylaws Committee
- 2. Mildred Stephens of Jacksonville

There were ten charter members who were unable to attend the luncheon – some because of health problems and others because we were unable to locate them. These members (listed alphabetically by last name) were:

- 1. Joyce Coulter of Hugo Ladies' Club original Program Committee member
- 2. Dorothy Herberg of Jacksonville Quilters our first Secretary (1983/1984)
- 3. Helen Miller of Piecemakers, Rogue River
- 4. Leona Miller
- 5. Rachel Razzolini of Hugo Ladies' Club Treasurer (1984/1985) and President (1990/1991)
- 6. Claudia Roskelley of Hugo Ladies' Club daughter of Margaret Hunsaker
- 7. Dora Scheidecker of Jacksonville Quilters our Founder and first President
- 8. Linda Thirlwall of Hands-All-Around Newsletter Chair May 14, 1983
- 9. Mary Wead of Grants Pass original Program Committee member
- 10. Mary Wilson of Grants Pass original Program Committee member

The following ten charter members were able to attend the luncheon and are listed alphabetically here by last name:

- 1. Cecilia Blew of Central Point
- 2. Bessie Corbin of Grants Pass original Bylaws Committee
- 3. Margaret Hunsaker of Jacksonville Quilters our first Vice President (1983/1984)
- 4. Maxine Kinkade from Hands-All-Around of Ashland
- 5. Anita Ledwidge of Hugo Ladies' Club original Publicity Chair
- 6. Geraldine (Gerry) Lewis of Jacksonville Quilters –Vice President (1985/1986) and original Bylaws Committee
- 7. Naida McDermitt creator of Hands-All-Around
- 8. Vicki Newhouse Secretary (1987/1988) and Treasurer (1992/1993)
- 9. Barbara Sabol of Medford financial Newsletter sponsor
- 10. Julie Waller of Hugo Ladies' Club original Bylaws Committee